Share:

This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. If you buy from my links, at no additional cost to you, I get a small commission so I can buy even more books to review.


Wings of Ebony by J. Elle

Wings of Ebony by J. Elle

Wings of Ebony by J. Elle

Genre: YA Fantasy

Length: 368 pages

First Published: February 21, 2021

Amazon | Goodreads


Publisher’s Description

In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry–and with evil sinking its claws into humans and gods alike, she’ll have to unearth the magic of her true identity to save both her worlds. 

Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Tomi Adeyemi, and The Hunger Games.

“Make a way out of no way” is just the way of life for Rue. But when her mother is shot dead on her doorstep, life for her and her younger sister changes forever. Rue’s taken from her neighborhood by the father she never knew, forced to leave her little sister behind, and whisked away to Ghizon—a hidden island of magic wielders.

Rue is the only half-god, half-human there, where leaders protect their magical powers at all costs and thrive on human suffering. Miserable and desperate to see her sister on the anniversary of their mother’s death, Rue breaks Ghizon’s sacred Do Not Leave Law and returns to Houston, only to discover that Black kids are being forced into crime and violence. And her sister, Tasha, is in danger of falling sway to the very forces that claimed their mother’s life.

Worse still, evidence mounts that the evil plaguing East Row is the same one that lurks in Ghizon—an evil that will stop at nothing until it has stolen everything from her and everyone she loves. Rue must embrace her true identity and wield the full magnitude of her ancestors’ power to save her neighborhood before the gods burn it to the ground.


About J. Elle

J.Elle is an author and advocate for marginalized voices in both publishing and her community. Born in Houston, Texas, Jess is a first-generation college student with a Bachelor of Journalism and Master of Arts in Educational Administration and Human Development. Her passion for empowering youth dates back before writing to her first career in education. Visit author’s website →

Remember to follow all things messy. . .
the vanishing half the vanishing half the vanishing half the vanishing half

Subscribe/Listen to my podcast

Pretty Mess Reading iTunes Podcastthe vanishing halfthe vanishing halfthe vanishing half


Share: