10 YA Books by Black Authors in 2021

Share:

YA books by black authors

Looking for a good YA book? Looking to support Black authors? I’ve compiled a list of YA books by Black authors in 2021. Supporting all authors is and has always been important but unfortunately Black authors sell less than other groups of authors. Historically, Black authors on average haven’t been as successful for a mulitude of reasons. One in particular being that Black authors simply aren’t being published at the rate of white authors. Often times, when they are published, they don’t receive much in terms of marketing and advertising.

Black voices need to be heard and their stories need to be published. One way we can work together to help is by reading and buying books by Black authors. We can make a huge difference by pre-ordering upcoming releases. This lets publishing companies know that we want to see more books by Black authors.

If you are currently looking for a new book (aren’t we always?) and looking for a way to uplift the voices and books of Black authors?… Here are some extraordinary upcoming YA books by Black authors you will love.

YA Books by Black Authors in 2021

YA Books by Black Authors in 2021

Love Is a Revolution by Renee Watson

This book is everything you could ask for in a YA love story. Renee Watson is known for writing books that pull at your heart strings in the best possible way. Rene Watson comes a new YA–a love story about not only a romantic relationship but how a girl finds herself and falls in love with who she really is. Read more →


YA Books by Black Authors in 2021

Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas

International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood. f there’s one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it’s that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that the only way he knows how. Read More →


YA Books by Black Authors in 2021

A Chorus Rises by Bethany C. Morrow

The Hate U Give meets Shadowshaper in Bethany C. Morrow’s A Chorus Rises, a brilliant contemporary fantasy set in the world of A Song Below Water. Teen influencer Naema Bradshaw has it all: she’s Portland famous, privileged, gorgeous — and she’s an Eloko, a charismatic person with a unique melody adored by all. Read More →


YA Books by Black Authors in 2021

When You Look Like Us by Pamela N. Harris

It’s a well known fact that when Black people go missing, the authorities are not very helpful. This is a powerful book that puts a much needed topic into the hands of young reader. – When you look like us—brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades—people think you’re trouble. No one looks twice at a missing black girl from the projects because she must’ve brought whatever happened to her upon herself. Read More →


There Are More YA Books by Black Authors to Check Out

YA books by black authors

YA Books by Black Authors in 2021

One of the Good Ones by Maika and Maritza Moulite

The Hate U Give meets Get Out in this honest and powerful exploration of prejudice in the stunning novel from sister-writer duo Maika and Maritza Moulite, authors of Dear Haiti, Love Alaine. When teen social activist and history buff Kezi Smith is killed under mysterious circumstances after attending a social justice rally, her devastated sister Happi and their family are left reeling in the aftermath. Read More →


YA Books by Black Authors in 2021

Roman and Jewel by Dana L. Davis

If Romeo and Juliet got the Hamilton treatment…who would play the leads? This vividly funny, honest, and charming romantic novel by Dana L. Davis is the story of a girl who thinks she has what it takes…and the world thinks so, too. If you’re looking for a wee bit of Broadway or The West End on paper, this is it! Read More →


I am so excited to read all of these YA books by Black Authors!

YA Books by Black Authors in 2021

Muted by Tami Charles

A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence lost, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds!Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard.For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything. Writing, performing, and her ultimate goal: escaping her very small, very white hometown. Read More →


YA Books by Black Authors in 2021

Wings of Ebony by J. Elle

In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry–and with evil sinking its claws into humans and gods alike, she’ll have to unearth the magic of her true identity to save both her worlds. Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Tomi Adeyemi, and The Hunger Games. Read More →


YA Books by Black Authors in 2021A Crown So Cursed by L. L. McKinney

In the third book in L.L. McKinney’s Nightmare-Verse trilogy, Alice gets one last chance to save Wonderland from itself. Alice and the gang are trying to recover from recent events—but members of her crew start having weird dreams. Read More→ 


YA Books by Black Authors in 2021

One Carefree Day by Whitney Amazeen

Imagine being forced to face your worst fear.For eighteen-year-old Willow Bates, anxiety is just a part of life. With her every decision ruled by intrusive thoughts, she’s worried she sometimes seems a little odd. Read More→


We are all well aware of the social climate surrounding us. We’ve seen people fight for equality in different ways. Supporting Black authors is another way we can fight for equality within the book community. We are a strong community and together we can help spread the word about YA books by Black authors. We can make 2021 the best year for Black authors and help their voices be heard.


Share:
Danielle

Hey there! I'm Danielle! I just a girl who loves books. I love books so much that I talk about the stories like they are real. Who knows? Maybe, they are real to me. I do love the book world, it's way better than reality. . .sometimes. . .because. . .I'm also a proud mama bear, wife, and mother!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.